jump to navigation (Alt+a) jump to content (Alt+b)

User login

 public 

any web user can view this item

Applying and Admissions

Admissions Process for BA (Fall 2019) | Admissions Process for MA (Fall 2019)

Admissions Process for BA (Fall 2019)

Admission to the BA in American Studies is restricted by a local “numerus clausus” (“ncu”), which is based on the grade point average of your school leaving certificate.

Student Council

The Anglo-American Student Council (Fachschaftsrat or FSR) is the representative body of the students from the American Studies Institute and Anglistik. Members are elected annually by their co-students, whom they represent and lobby for in the various University committees.

Sleeping and Such...

Housing

Living in Leipzig is reasonably inexpensive and finding an apartment is rarely a problem.

International Students

Leipzig University and the American Studies Institute in particular strongly encourage students from abroad to study in Leipzig. The American Studies BA and MA programs are certified for meeting the Bologna criteria.

Our American Studies program is of great interest for international students because it looks at the U.S. in a global context. Here, you can discuss the country's culture, its politics, social change, and economic transformation in the context of global trends and developments.

Canals through Leipzig

Canals through Leipzig

Living in Leipzig

Leipzig is a vibrant, unique, and fascinating city of 500,000 residents. Located at the heart of Mitteldeutschland, the city is an important cultural and intellectual center where both the classical and the contemporary Germany meet.

Core Faculty

Core Faculty are those members of the American Studies Leipzig team who are long-term teaching and research staff.

Institute Faculty at American Studies, Leipzig

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Katja Kanzler
Professor and Chair for American Literature
Room 3507 | Phone: (0341) 97-37331
Office Hours: Winter Term 19/20 (when classes are in sessions): Tue., 11 am - 12 noon; on Dec. 3, 12 - 1 pm

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/kanzler
katja.kanzler@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Pisarz-Ramirez
Professor for American Studies and Minority Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.08 | Phone: (0341) 973 7343
Office Hours: No regular office hours due to research leave in the winter term 2019/20

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pisarz
pisarz@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
PD Dr. Olaf Stieglitz
Visiting Professor for American Culture and History
Room 3505 | Phone: (0341) 97-37335
Office Hours: Tuesday, 10-12 am

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/stieglitz
olaf.stieglitz@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sebastian M. Herrmann
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 97-37337
Office Hours: - (Currently on Leave)

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/herrmann/
smherrmann@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Katja Schmieder
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Starting October 24: Thursdays, 10-11am

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schmieder
schmieder@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Stefan Schubert
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Mondays, 10-11am

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schubert
stefan.schubert@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sophie Spieler
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 97-37337
Office Hours: WS 19/20: Mondays, 3-4

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/spieler
sophie.spieler@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Heather Pruessing
Assistant Lecturer of American Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973-7336
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 3-4pm and by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pruessing
heather.pruessing@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Eleonora Ravizza, MA
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3 5.04 | Phone: (0341) 973 7332
Office Hours: Mon 2-3pm

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/eleonora-ravizza
eleonora.ravizza@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Tobias Schlobach, MA
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973 7336
Office Hours: Thursdays, 5-6 pm and by appointment

tobias.schlobach@uni-leipzig.de
 

Adjunct Faculty

User Foto
Dr. Frank Usbeck
Research Fellow
Office Hours: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/usbeck
fusbeck@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Eric W. Fraunholz
Doctoral Candidate
Room 3.504 | Phone: +49 341 - 97 37332
Office Hours: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/ericf
eric.fraunholz@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Annika M. Schadewaldt

Room Nikolaistr. 10, room 4.05 | Phone:
Office Hours: during the break: Feb 12, 2-3pm; March 5, 2-3pm; and by appointment

annika.schadewaldt@studserv.uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Michaela Beck

Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone:
Office Hours: During semester break: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/michaela-beck
Michaela.Beck2@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Caroline Lyle

Room Nikolaistr. 10, room 405 | Phone:
Office Hours: by appointment

caroline.lyle@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Hedwig Lieback

Room Nikolaistr. 10, room 405 | Phone:
Office Hours: by appointment

hedwig.lieback@uni-leipzig.de
 

Staff

User Foto
Anne Keyselt
Institute Secretariat
Room 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0)341 9737330
Office Hours: Monday to Thursday 10 am - 2 pm, and by appointment

keyselt@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sophia Manns-Süßbrich
Lead Librarian for American Studies
Room Universitaetsbibliothek Leipzig | Phone: 0341 9730506

manns@ub.uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Franziska Pfab
Secretary to the Chair for American Literature
Room GWZ 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0) 341-97 37 330
Office Hours: Mon, 10am - 12; Tue+Wedn, 10am - 12 + 1pm - 2:30pm; Thurs, 10am - 12; Fr, 10am - 12 + 1pm - 2:30pm; and by appointment

franziska.pfab@uni-leipzig.de
 
200823Jun

Panel Discussion: 1968 in America: Then and Now

American Studies Leipzig invites you to the following event:

Panel Discussion: „1968 IN AMERICA: THEN AND NOW“

Monday, 23 June
6 pm - 8 pm
Städtisches Kaufhaus
Room 2-08

Impressum | accesible XHTML | © 19