Faculty

Core Faculty, Affiliated Faculty, Guest Scholars, Staff, and Students: Together this is the Scholarly Team at the Institute for American Studies in Leipzig.
 

Institute Faculty at American Studies, Leipzig

American Studies Leipzig has a broad and diverse Core Faculty. We have specialists in literature, culture, history, politics, and international affairs. Faculty cooperate regularly to offer integrated teaching on broad and interesting topics (for example, citizenship and identity, consumption culture, literature and difference, immigration, globalization and American society, and many, many more subjects).

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Katja Kanzler
Professor and Chair for American Literature
Room 3507 | Phone: (0341) 97-37331
Office Hours: Winter Term 2021/22 (while classes are in session): Thursdays, 3-4 pm; until further notice, all office hours via zoom (pls email me at least one hour in advance)

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/kanzler
katja.kanzler@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisStEx ThesisExecutive Director
 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Pisarz-Ramirez
Professor for American Studies and Minority Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.08 | Phone: (0341) 973 7343
Office Hours: In the Winter term: Thursdays, 5:15-6:15 pm (beginning on Oct. 21); until further notice office hours via zoom. Please contact me by email to arrange for an appoinment.

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pisarz
pisarz@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisStEx ThesisExamination Board
 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Olaf Stieglitz
Professor for American Cultural History
Room 3505 | Phone: (0341) 97-37335
Office Hours: Winter 21/22: in person consultations are possible on Wednesday, 1.30-3 pm; Zoom consultations by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/stieglitz
olaf.stieglitz@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisStEx Thesis
 
User Foto
Dr. Stefan Schubert
Akademischer Assistent (Senior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 973 7337
Office Hours: Mon, 3-4pm (in person; no appointment necessary); and via Zoom by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schubert
stefan.schubert@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisCurricular Advising
 
User Foto
Annika M. Schadewaldt, MA
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (Junior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Mon, 3-4pm (via Zoom, please email at least 1 hour in advance)

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schadewaldt
annika.schadewaldt@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisBA/MA Credit Transfer
 
User Foto
Tobias Schlobach, MA
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter (Junior Assistant Professor for American Cultural History)
Room 3501 | Phone: (0341) 973 7336
Office Hours: Thursdays, 5:30-6:30pm, and by appointment (all via Zoom, please contact me in advance so I can send you a link)

tobias.schlobach@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisStudy AbroadInternships
 
User Foto
Dr. Katja Schmieder
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (Junior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Thursdays, 12:00-13:00, via Zoom (until further notice - please contact me in advance for a link)

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schmieder
schmieder@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisBA/MA Credit TransferAlmawebMA Entrance Exam
 
User Foto
Dr. Sebastian M. Herrmann
Lehrkraft für besondere Aufgaben (Lecturer for American Studies)
Room 3504 | Phone: (0341) 97-37332
Office Hours: Tue 3-4 (via Zoom, pls. email me for details)

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/herrmann/
smherrmann@uni-leipzig.de
StEx Advising
 
User Foto
Heather Pruessing
Lehrkraft für besondere Aufgaben (Lecturer for American Cultural History)
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973-7336
Office Hours: Mondays 14:30-15:30 (via Zoom) Please contact me beforehand to receive a link

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pruessing
heather.pruessing@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Eleonora Ravizza
Lehrkraft für besondere Aufgaben (Lecturer for American Studies)
Room 3 5.04 | Phone: (0341) 973 7332
Office Hours: Mon, 2-3pm in person; and via Zoom by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/ravizza
eleonora.ravizza@uni-leipzig.de
StEx Advising
 

Former Professors

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Hartmut Keil
Professor Emeritus for American Culture and History

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/keil

 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Anne Koenen
Professor Emeritus for American Literature

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/koenen
koenen@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Prof. Crister S. Garrett †
Professor for American Culture and History

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/garrett

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

The Institute’s strengths are further enhanced by strong cooperation with colleagues from throughout the University of Leipzig. These Affiliated Faculty help make American Studies a highly interdisciplinary program. Beside Core Faculty, and Affiliated Faculty, the Institute for American Studies has regular and distinguished international Guest Scholars.

User Foto
Solveig Kloss

Office Hours: By appointment

s.kloss.95@gmail.com
 
User Foto
George Rainov

Room Room 405, Nikolaistr. 10 (Strohsack-Passage) | Phone:
Office Hours: Monday 3-4pm

george.rainov@gmail.com
 
User Foto
danson

Room IFA H3 5.01 | Phone:
Office Hours: Tuesday 11-12

danson.wolfe@gmail.com
 

 

Research Fellows

American Studies Leipzig also employs several scholars as research fellows to work on specific projects, typically on external funding such as the DFG CRCs.

User Foto
Dr. Steffen Wöll
Postdoctoral Fellow (SFB 1199: “Processes of Spatialization under the Global Condition”)
Room Nikolaistr. 6-10, Room 5.07 | Phone: 0341 973 77 52

https://steffenwoell.github.io
steffen.woell@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Anne Krenz
Doctoral Fellow (SFB 1285: “Invectivity: Constella­tions and Dynamics of Disparagement”)
Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43851
Office Hours: currently on leave

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/krenz
anne.krenz@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Katja Schulze
Doctoral Fellow (SFB 1285: “Invectivity: Constella­tions and Dynamics of Disparagement”)
Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43852
Office Hours: by appointment

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/schulze
katja.schulze@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Frank Usbeck
Associated Research Fellow
Office Hours: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/usbeck
fusbeck@uni-leipzig.de
 

 

Staff

We also see the Staff at the Institute as an indispensable part of the Scholarly Team: Our dynamic staff provides key elements of the teaching environment - student support, technological infrastructure for learning, efficient communications, and much more.

User Foto
Dr. Sophia Manns-Süßbrich
Lead Librarian for American Studies
Room Universitaetsbibliothek Leipzig | Phone: 0341 9730506

manns@ub.uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Anne Bishop
Secretary to the Chair of American Literature (Prof. Kanzler)
Room 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0)341 9737330
Office Hours: In-person office hours are cancelled. Please contact me via email at:

anne.bishop@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Anne Keyselt
Institute Secretariat
Room 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0)341 9737330
Office Hours: In-person office hours are cancelled. Please contact me via email at: americanstudies@uni-leipzig.de

keyselt@uni-leipzig.de