Faculty

Core Faculty, Affiliated Faculty, Guest Scholars, Staff, and Students: Together this is the Scholarly Team at the Institute for American Studies in Leipzig.
 

Institute Faculty at American Studies, Leipzig

American Studies Leipzig has a broad and diverse Core Faculty. We have specialists in literature, culture, history, politics, and international affairs. Faculty cooperate regularly to offer integrated teaching on broad and interesting topics (for example, citizenship and identity, consumption culture, literature and difference, immigration, globalization and American society, and many, many more subjects).

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Katja Kanzler
Professor and Chair for American Literature
Room 3507 | Phone: (0341) 97-37331
Office Hours: Summer Break: 23 July, 13 August, 17 September, all 3-4 pm (all office hours by phone, via callback; pls email at least one hour in advance)

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/kanzler
katja.kanzler@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisStEx ThesisExecutive Director
 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Pisarz-Ramirez
Professor for American Studies and Minority Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.08 | Phone: (0341) 973 7343
Office Hours: Remote office hours during the semester break: Wednesday July 22, 12-1; Tuesday August 11, 12-1; Monday September 7 12-1. Please contact me by email at least one hour before to request a callback.

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pisarz
pisarz@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisStEx ThesisExamination Board
 
User Foto
PD Dr. Olaf Stieglitz
Visiting Professor for American Cultural History
Room 3505 | Phone: (0341) 97-37335
Office Hours: I will be available over the semester break - please email, and we can also make an appointment for a telephone call or a zoom conversation

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/stieglitz
olaf.stieglitz@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisStEx Thesis
 
User Foto
Dr. Sebastian M. Herrmann
Akademischer Assistent (Senior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 97-37337
Office Hours: by appointment, via Video Chat or phone

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/herrmann/
smherrmann@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisCurricular Advising
 
User Foto
Dr. Stefan Schubert
Akademischer Assistent (Senior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 973 7337
Office Hours: In the semester break: July 23, 10am-noon and August 24, 10am-noon, via Zoom (please email me at least an hour before).

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schubert
stefan.schubert@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisCurricular Advising
 
User Foto
Annika M. Schadewaldt, MA
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (Junior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: by appointment during the semester break

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schadewaldt
annika.schadewaldt@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisBA/MA Credit Transfer
 
User Foto
Tobias Schlobach, MA
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter (Junior Assistant Professor for American Cultural History)
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973 7336
Office Hours: during the semester break by appointment (via Zoom/telephone; please email me in advance and let me know how you prefer to be contacted)

tobias.schlobach@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisStudy AbroadInternships
 
User Foto
Dr. Katja Schmieder
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (Junior Assistant Professor for American Literature)
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Summer Break: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schmieder
schmieder@uni-leipzig.de
BA ThesisMA ThesisBA/MA Credit TransferAlmawebMA Entrance Exam
 
User Foto
Heather Pruessing
Lehrkraft für besondere Aufgaben (Lecturer for American Cultural History)
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973-7336
Office Hours: Thursdays 13:30-14:30. Please contact me via email at least one hour beforehand to request a callback.

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pruessing
heather.pruessing@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Eleonora Ravizza
Lehrkraft für besondere Aufgaben (Lecturer for American Studies)
Room 3 5.04 | Phone: (0341) 973 7332
Office Hours: By appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/ravizza
eleonora.ravizza@uni-leipzig.de
StEx Advising
 

Former Professors

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Hartmut Keil
Professor Emeritus for American Culture and History

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/keil

 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Anne Koenen
Professor Emeritus for American Literature

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/koenen
koenen@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Prof. Crister S. Garrett †
Professor for American Culture and History

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/garrett

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

The Institute’s strengths are further enhanced by strong cooperation with colleagues from throughout the University of Leipzig. These Affiliated Faculty help make American Studies a highly interdisciplinary program. Beside Core Faculty, and Affiliated Faculty, the Institute for American Studies has regular and distinguished international Guest Scholars.

User Foto
Mascha Helene Lange
Doctoral Candidate
Room 3311 | Phone:
Office Hours: by appointment

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/mascha-lange
mascha.lange@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Friedrich Opitz

Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone:
Office Hours: Fridays, 3 – 4 pm (remote office hours by appointment)

friedrich.opitz@uni-leipzig.de
 

 

Research Fellows

American Studies Leipzig also employs several scholars as research fellows to work on specific projects, typically on external funding such as the DFG CRCs.

Deniz Bozkurt



 
User Foto
Anne Krenz

Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43851

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/krenz
anne.krenz@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Katja Schulze

Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43852
Office Hours: by appointment

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/schulze
katja.schulze@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Gesine Wegner

Room Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43852
Office Hours: by appointment

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/wegner
gesine.wegner@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Frank Usbeck
Associated Research Fellow
Office Hours: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/usbeck
fusbeck@uni-leipzig.de
 

 

Staff

We also see the Staff at the Institute as an indispensable part of the Scholarly Team: Our dynamic staff provides key elements of the teaching environment - student support, technological infrastructure for learning, efficient communications, and much more.

User Foto
Anne Keyselt
Institute Secretariat
Room 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0)341 9737330
Office Hours: Monday to Thursday 10 am - 2 pm, and by appointment

keyselt@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sophia Manns-Süßbrich
Lead Librarian for American Studies
Room Universitaetsbibliothek Leipzig | Phone: 0341 9730506

manns@ub.uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Franziska Pfab
Secretary to the Chair for American Literature
Room GWZ 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0) 341-97 37 330
Office Hours: In-person office hours upon prior arrangement by email; for a callback, please leave your phone number.

franziska.pfab@uni-leipzig.de