jump to navigation (Alt+a) jump to content (Alt+b)

User login

 Faculty 

Core Faculty, Affiliated Faculty, Guest Scholars, Staff, and Students: Together this is the Scholarly Team at the Institute for American Studies in Leipzig.
 

Institute Faculty at American Studies, Leipzig

American Studies Leipzig has a broad and diverse Core Faculty. We have specialists in literature, culture, history, politics, and international affairs. Faculty cooperate regularly to offer integrated teaching on broad and interesting topics (for example, citizenship and identity, consumption culture, literature and difference, immigration, globalization and American society, and many, many more subjects).

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Katja Kanzler
Professor and Chair for American Literature
Room 3507 | Phone: (0341) 97-37331
Office Hours: Winter Term 19/20 (when classes are in sessions): Tue., 11 am - 12 noon; no office hour on 5 Nov.

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/kanzler
katja.kanzler@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Pisarz-Ramirez
Professor for American Studies and Minority Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.08 | Phone: (0341) 973 7343
Office Hours: No regular office hours due to research leave in the winter term 2019/20

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pisarz
pisarz@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
PD Dr. Olaf Stieglitz
Visiting Professor for American Culture and History
Room 3505 | Phone: (0341) 97-37335
Office Hours: Tuesday, 10-12 am

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/stieglitz
olaf.stieglitz@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sebastian M. Herrmann
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 97-37337
Office Hours: - (Currently on Leave)

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/herrmann/
smherrmann@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Katja Schmieder
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Starting October 24: Thursdays, 10-11am

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schmieder
schmieder@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Stefan Schubert
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3502 | Phone: (0341) 973 7334
Office Hours: Mondays, 10-11am

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/schubert
stefan.schubert@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sophie Spieler
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3503 | Phone: (0341) 97-37337
Office Hours: WS 19/20: Mondays, 3-4

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/spieler
sophie.spieler@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Heather Pruessing
Assistant Lecturer of American Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973-7336
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 3-4pm and by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/pruessing
heather.pruessing@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Eleonora Ravizza, MA
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room 3 5.04 | Phone: (0341) 973 7332
Office Hours: Mon 2-3pm

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/eleonora-ravizza
eleonora.ravizza@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Tobias Schlobach, MA
Assistant Lecturer for American Studies
Room GWZ 3 5.01 | Phone: (0341) 973 7336
Office Hours: Thursdays, 5-6 pm and by appointment

tobias.schlobach@uni-leipzig.de
 

Former Professors

User Foto
Prof. Dr. Anne Koenen
Professor Emeritus for American Literature

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/koenen
koenen@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Prof. Dr. Hartmut Keil
Professor Emeritus for American Culture and History

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/keil

 
User Foto
Prof. Crister S. Garrett †
Professor for American Culture and History

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/garrett

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

The Institute's strengths are further enhanced by strong cooperation with colleagues from throughout the University of Leipzig. These Affiliated Faculty help make American Studies a highly interdisciplinary program. Beside Core Faculty, and Affiliated Faculty, the Institute for American Studies has regular and distinguished international Guest Scholars.

User Foto
Dr. Frank Usbeck
Research Fellow
Office Hours: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/faculty/usbeck
fusbeck@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Eric W. Fraunholz
Doctoral Candidate
Room 3.504 | Phone: +49 341 - 97 37332
Office Hours: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/ericf
eric.fraunholz@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Annika M. Schadewaldt

Room Nikolaistr. 10, room 4.05 | Phone:
Office Hours: during the break: Feb 12, 2-3pm; March 5, 2-3pm; and by appointment

annika.schadewaldt@studserv.uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Michaela Beck

Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone:
Office Hours: During semester break: by appointment

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/michaela-beck
Michaela.Beck2@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Caroline Lyle

Room Nikolaistr. 10, room 405 | Phone:
Office Hours: by appointment

caroline.lyle@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Hedwig Lieback

Room Nikolaistr. 10, room 405 | Phone:
Office Hours: by appointment

hedwig.lieback@uni-leipzig.de
 

 

Research Fellows

American Studies Leipzig also employs several scholars as research fellows to work on specific projects, typically on external funding such as the DFG CRCs.

User Foto
Anne Krenz

Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43851

http://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/krenz
anne.krenz@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
Katja Schulze

Room GWZ 3 3.11 | Phone: 0351 463 43852
Office Hours: by appointment

https://americanstudies.uni-leipzig.de/users/schulze
katja.schulze@tu-dresden.de
 
User Foto
 
User Foto
Deniz Bozkurt



 

 

Staff

We also see the Staff at the Institute as an indispensable part of the Scholarly Team: Our dynamic staff provides key elements of the teaching environment - student support, technological infrastructure for learning, efficient communications, and much more.

User Foto
Anne Keyselt
Institute Secretariat
Room 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0)341 9737330
Office Hours: Monday to Thursday 10 am - 2 pm, and by appointment

keyselt@uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Dr. Sophia Manns-Süßbrich
Lead Librarian for American Studies
Room Universitaetsbibliothek Leipzig | Phone: 0341 9730506

manns@ub.uni-leipzig.de
 
User Foto
Franziska Pfab
Secretary to the Chair for American Literature
Room GWZ 3.506 | Phone: +49 (0) 341-97 37 330
Office Hours: Mon, 10am - 12; Tue+Wedn, 10am - 12 + 1pm - 2:30pm; Thurs, 10am - 12; Fr, 10am - 12 + 1pm - 2:30pm; and by appointment

franziska.pfab@uni-leipzig.de
 
Impressum | accesible XHTML | © 19